books · discussion · feminism · personal · YA

My Favourite Fictional Ladies!

Hi everyone! Seeing as it is International Women’s Day I thought I would write about my favourite fictional ladies today. Most of my favourite characters happen to be female so this list was really hard to narrow down as I could go on FOREVER. But these are my ultimate favourite ladies from both books and TV that I just can’t shut up about.

tumblr_nye0f9YaTM1qgq3eio1_500
Art Credit 

1. Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games)

This list wouldn’t be complete without my all time favourite character. I read the series about 5 years ago and she actually wasn’t my favourite character at the time, but she slowly crept up on me (I couldn’t resist, I apologise) and now I completely adore her. Yes she’s badass with a bow and arrow, but the reason I love her is a lot more than that. She’s an extremely courageous and caring person, but one who also cries and realistically has breakdowns. Collins reminds us she isn’t a superhero and is merely a teenage girl who’s had the whole world put on her shoulders and sometimes that’s too much. Trying to convey all my reasons for loving her could easily turn into an essay so I’m gonna stop here.

0684

2. Allison Argent (Teen Wolf)

Back in the day (we’re talking 2013 here) I boarded the Teen Wolf hype train and whilst I was fully aware it was not the best show to grace our televisions, I found it addicting and the characters really interesting (I have since, stopped watching the show). My favourite was Allison Argent who was so kind and brave and I totally related to her due to events that happened to her Season 2. I thought the way that situation was handled was pretty good and better than I’ve seen in a lot of shows and books. She was so selfless and loved her friends so fiercely and her character arc in season 2/3A is one of my favourites.

HP5-01319

3. Luna Lovegood (Harry Potter)

Even though I do completely adore Ginny and Hermione and really all the women in this series, Luna wins the top spot for me. I always identified with Luna most as a child for being a bit different and bullied by her peers, and as I grew older I started to relate to her in even more ways. She is such a kind soul and her belief in the impossible is really just wonderful. I think she brings a light touch to the later, darker books that is needed but she’s also extremely wise and a great friend for Harry.

normal_H_S9_E14_0651

4. Amy Fleming (Heartland)

I’m aware that Heartland is not the most groundbreaking television show out there and that there are various problems with it. But Amy is a character who captivated me in the books as a child and continues to in the TV show. We went through very similar experiences at similar ages and I think one thing the show does very well is showing how grief and the loss of a family member affects a character even 8 years later. Amy isn’t afraid to stand up for herself and be proud of her talents and experiences, and multiple times she has teared down the sexism she faces for being a young woman in her profession.

Picture1

5. Leslie Knope (Parks and Rec)

I was pretty late to the Parks and Rec train but I finally sat down and watched it last Spring and I completely fell for this quirky, happy little show. Leslie Knope is determined, driven and would do anything for her friends. Honestly when I’m losing motivation to do something, I just channel Leslie Knope and I feel empowered and can usually get it done. She’s extremely selfless and I think we should probably all aspire to be a little more like her.

tumblr_nv7wukkUhj1rtxlz6o1_r1_500
Art Credit

6. Blue Sargent (The Raven Cycle)

It really is unsurprising that in a book with a main cast that is predominantly male, my favourite is the one female character. One of the things I love about Blue is that she’s a feminist who calls out the boys on their crap and is totally unapologetic about it. I love her unique sense of style and that she is totally unafraid to be exactly who she is. Her relationships with her female relationships is also wonderful and I can’t wait to see where she goes in the final installment.

tumblr_nkvikzQPaq1sse3x5o1_500
Art Credit

7. Lucero-Elisa de Riqueza (The Fire and Thorns Trilogy)

The Fire and Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson is one of my favourites, and it’s mostly because of Elisa. Her character arc is probably my favourite arc of all time. I love how she grows to love and totally inhabit her body instead of being embarrassed about it and is still very feminine whilst also being a badass when necessary. I also love her best friend Mara in this series who deserves a special shoutout because is also wonderful. Rae Carson just writes beautifully flawed and real female characters and I love them all.

Pride___Prejudice__BDRRip_1080p_KISSTHEMGOODBYE_NET_0047

8. Elizabeth Bennet (Pride and Prejudice)

What list of favourite fictional ladies would be complete without mentioning Elizabeth Bennet? I actually wrote an entire essay in my last year of high school dedicated to her because I love her so much. She’s feisty and strong and totally ahead of her time. She’s just a character you are constantly cheer for and her witty and sarcastic remarks to those of a higher social rank always have me laughing.

So there you have it! I still love so many other fictional ladies but these are my ultimate favourites that probably will never change. I hope you guys all have a fantastic International Women’s Day and let me know in the comments below some of your favourite fictional ladies!

Leave a Reply

