book blogging · book review · reading · YA

Everything Leads To You by Nina LaCour | Book Review

DSC_0283

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 1/2

Genre: YA Contemporary

Pages: 307

Format: Paperback

Buy the Book: Amazon, The Book Depository 

***

Goodreads Summary: A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world. Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.

I picked this book up whilst still somewhat in a reading slump and it is exactly what I needed. Everything Leads To You is a bright, beautiful, funny contemporary full of love and friendship set against the backdrop of the LA film scene. LaCour’s writing is subtle and yet so charming; there were some lines that would just pop out to me whilst I was reading that I adored.

One of the main reasons I wanted to pick this book up was the fact that Emi is an openly gay character who has been in relationships before. I’ve been trying to read more diversely and that includes books with LGBTQ+ characters. I’ve read quite a few, but they tend to be darker and more focused on the coming out process (not that those stories aren’t necessary and SO important, because they are!) but it was nice to switch it up a bit and read a nice fluffy contemporary with an LGBTQ+ lead.

Emi is a bright and passionate character who has a tendency to be slightly over-dramatic but for me it is all part of her charm. She is flawed and funny but also incredibly hard-working and driven and it was so nice to read about a YA protagonist actively pursuing a career with such vigor. Her best friend Charlotte could’ve had a bit more depth but ultimately their friendship was so lovely to read about. Yes they talked about romantic interests but they also talked about their jobs and their friendships and movies and I just felt like it was a very healthy, realistic portrayal of friendship that made me want to ring up all my best friends and tell them how much I loved them.

I really enjoyed Ava’s character and the way her story was handled. I won’t give too much away but I thought LaCour handled her  situation really well and I really enjoyed the message that the book had concerning her story and character. I thought the romance between her and Emi was well paced and wonderfully written and it was so adorable. I also really enjoyed her best friend Jamal’s character – he was definitely a stand-out for me and I loved every scene he was in.

In terms of the plot I can see that some of the events may have happened a little too conveniently, but ultimately it really didn’t bother me. This isn’t a book that is supposed to blow your mind with plot twists and struggles, but one that is supposed to make you feel all warm and fuzzy and that’s exactly what it did for me. This is definitely the best contemporary that I’ve read in a while and I would recommend it to everyone, particularly if you’re looking for something light and easy to read that also has real soul and a beautiful, heartwarming ending.

2 thoughts on “Everything Leads To You by Nina LaCour | Book Review

Leave a Reply

