book blogging · top ten tuesday

Books On My Fall TBR | Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. 

This week is our Top 10 Books on our Fall TBR, aka the books we most want to get to in the next couple of months. I don’t usually set myself a strict TBR as I tend to pick up whatever book I am in the mood for but I do prioritize! And these are some of the books that I plan on getting to (hopefully!) in the next couple of months.

  1. The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

I’m currently in the middle of The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson and I am loving it! This is a high fantasy trilogy following our main character Elisa, who has been chosen by God to bear something that marks her as somewhat special, although she doesn’t think so. On her 16th birthday she is married to a King from another country whom she doesn’t know, and the story takes off from there. This is the third and final book in the trilogy so I can’t really say anything about it but I’m planning on getting to it as soon as I finish the Crown of Embers. I highly recommend this series (so far)!

2. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Patrick Ness is probably my favourite author and I pre-ordered this as soon as I found out about it! I didn’t read it immediately upon release as I was still in the states, but I definitely am going to pick this up very soon! This is essentially about all the people who aren’t ‘The Chosen Ones’ of the story which I think is going to be really interesting. I can’t wait to read!

3. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stievfater

I read The Raven Boys, the first book in this series, back in May and thoroughly enjoyed it! This series is set in a small southern town and follows Blue and four other boys as they try and find Ley Lines. I don’t really want to say much more than that as I think it’s best to go into these books not knowing a lot. The Dream Thieves is the sequel to TRB and I don’t know why I’ve been putting it off really but I’m excited as I’ve heard lots of good things about it!

4. The Bloody of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I know. This book has been out for almost a year now and I still haven’t read it. But I did only read The House of Hades earlier this year. This is the fifth and final installment in The Heroes of Olympus series and I haven’t had much motivation to pick this up due to hearing mixed review but I’m determined to have this series finished before the end of the year.

5. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

This is one of the books I feel like everyone has read except me, either for school or that people have just read in their spare time. It’s also one of my good friends favourite books and I’ve been meaning to read it for years so I thought that October would be a good month as it’s a gothic novel. I’ve also not read a classic yet this year (eek!) so I really want to read this!

6. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

I’ve been intrigued by this book for a while now, having seen it on a few TBR’s and Wrap Ups with good reviews. This is a historical fiction novel set in Iceland around the time of the last execution there, which happened to be of a woman. I love gritty historical fiction novels and Iceland is somewhere I really want to travel to, so this sounds like something that is right up my alley!

7. The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

I bought this book earlier this year and just haven’t managed to get around to it. This is a novel about a young transgender girl, however I don’t know much more about the plot otherwise. I’ve been trying to read more diverse fiction this year, including LGBTQ+ fiction, and this seems to have good reviews. I’m also planning on attending YA Shot which Lisa Williamson is attending, so hopefully I can get this read before then!

8. The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

Never Let Me Go is one of my favourite books of all time, so when I heard Kazuo Ishiguro was coming out with a new book, I naturally pre-ordered it. It’s been sitting on my shelf since it was released and I want to read it soon. I don’t know too much about this book at all, nor have I heard any reviews on it but I think I want to go into it knowing as little as possible.

9. Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes

This is the second book in the Falling Kingdoms series. I read the first back in May and whilst I liked it nothing really hooked me with it until the last 50 pages and even then, I didn’t feel the need to immediately pick the next book up. However I’ve heard the series gets better with each book so hopefully I enjoy this one more!

10. Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

I know, I know. How have I not read this trilogy? I don’t really have an answer. I know that this a series so many people have read and it’s a lot of my friends’ favourite series. I hope I can get to this relatively soon as I can’t wait to read this trilogy!

So those are all the books I want to read this fall. Hopefully I can get to most of them. What’s on your Fall TBR?

Leave a Reply

